Covered with a metal sheath for 60 years, the historic Pythian building has been uncovered, renewed, and enlivened.
If Algiers had to burn, it picked a good time.
Built in part with salvaged materials from an 1879 police station, the building was relocated from its waterfront location in 1951 to its current home in a quiet pocket of Lakeview.
Designed in 1947 by architecture firm Dreyfous and Seiferth (Weiss, Dreyfous and Seiferth until 1940), the once-glimmering Gem Theater’s Art Deco-inspired façade was hidden beneath a thick layer of grime. Today, it has been converted into New Orleans’ newest brewery!