Historic Holy Cross is a tranquil neighborhood, with shotgun houses and cottages set on large lots, many with gardens. A walk on the levee provides breathtaking views of New Orleans’ downtown and the curve of the river. The land that comprises modern-day Holy Cross was established on Bernard de Marigny’s former holdings starting in 1808. German and Irish immigrants and African Americans settled the region, and by 1900, the neighborhood featured small farms that provided produce, poultry and dairy products to New Orleans’ markets. The construction of the Industrial Canal in 1923 established the term Lower Ninth Ward and separated the neighborhood from the rest of New Orleans. While much of the Lower Ninth Ward was flooded by the levee failures after Hurricane Katrina, water receded from Holy Cross quickly, making damage less severe on this high ground near the river. Stalwart generations of homeowners inspired people to come back and put down roots. The Preservation Resource Center also made a considerable impact by restoring many of the area’s historic houses and making repairs to the homes of elderly and low-income homeowners. It took many years for the neighborhood to fully recover, but it did, and Holy Cross has a high rate of homeownership today.