This story appeared in the June issue of PRC’s Preservation in Print magazine. Interested in getting more preservation stories like this delivered to your door nine times a year? Become a member of the PRC for a subscription!

The Preservation Resource Center is proud to welcome our incoming Board President Leslie Bouie.

Bouie has been a PRC board member for six years, having served the past three as board secretary. She is active on the Advocacy and Multicultural Heritage Committees.

“I started out several years ago as a volunteer at PRC because I believe in the mission and everything PRC does,” Bouie said. Her appreciation of New Orleans history and culture started from an early age, growing up in “Old Algiers,” and nurturing the community to this day from years at Xavier Prep and Southern University of New Orleans.

Bouie is retired from a career at Shell Oil. Her background is in organizational effectiveness, and she is a very active New Orleanian, also serving on the following boards: NOCCA, Independent Women’s Organization, Gentilly Terrace and Gardens Improvement Association, and UNITY of Greater New Orleans. She also serves as a member of the State Racing Commission, having been appointed by Gov. Edwards.

Bouie is married to state Sen. Joe Bouie, and is a very involved grandmother of three. We are so lucky to have President Bouie at the helm for this critical year as we transition out of the pandemic.

Joining Bouie on the PRC’s Executive Committee this year are Vice President Katie Witry; Secretary Charlie Urstadt; Treasurer Hartley Crunk; and At Large Members Carling Dinkler, Jessie Haynes, Chris Kornman, Jessica Knox and Aulston Taylor.

The PRC also is excited to welcome seven new board members this year:

  • Will Alexander, Sweeney Restoration
  • Clay Colton, Baseline Historic Tax Credit Advisors
  • Margaret Glass, Steeg Law Firm
  • Ashley Harrison, Hancock Whitney Bank
  • Nomita Joshi-Gupta, Spruce Interior Design
  • Sadat Spencer, SMS Development
  • Daniel Zangara, Zangara+Partners

We’re also grateful to have many board members returning for another term, and especially Ben Dupuy who has agreed to serve a third three-year term.
Returning board members include:

  • Ben Dupuy
  • Thomas J. “Beau” Bethune
  • Laura Carlisle
  • Randall Duplessis
  • Vaughan Fitzpatrick
  • Roger Freibert
  • Jeremy Head
  • Mike Katz
  • Ashley King
  • Barbara Lacen-Keller
  • Sarah Martzolf
  • Mary Frances Parker
  • Peter Wilson.